Acute Fatty Liver of Pregnancy (AFLP) Archives - British Liver Trust

Jessica’s story: “Timely diagnosis of AFLP is difficult as the symptoms are so non-specific, and I didn’t even develop symptoms until the situation was advanced”

Jessica found out she had acute fatty liver of pregnancy (AFLP) shortly before her son was born, …

Read More

Jodie-Ann’s story: “My partner asked one of the midwives why I looked yellow.”

Jodie Ann

Jodie-Ann experienced acute fatty liver of pregnancy when she was pregnant with her third child. She’s shared …

Read More

Lisa and Justin's story

“The British Liver Trust were a real lifeline for Lisa. A gift from you today will help to make sure no one has to deal with liver disease alone.”

– Justin

Justin speaks more about Lisa’s liver transplant in this video.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Find out more about cookies and how to manage your settings.

What is a CCG or ICS?

CCGs (Clinical Commissioning Groups) were established as part of the Health and Social Care Act in 2012. They are groups of general practices, which come together in each area to commission the best services for their patients and population.

ICS (Integrated Care Systems) are new partnerships between the organisations that meet health and care needs across an area, to coordinate services and to plan in a way that improves population health and reduces inequalities between different groups. ICS will replace Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) by April 2022 and cover a wider geographic area than CCGs.

Devolved nations – health is primarily a devolved matter across the four nations which make up the UK. Among these variations are differing regional structures, Scotland and Wales have Health Boards, England have CCGs (currently being superseded by Integrated Care Systems) and Northern Ireland has Health and Social Care Trusts.

Skip to content