wales Archives - British Liver Trust

How patients with liver disease in Wales feel about their diagnosis and care

wales flag on chair

Earlier this year, we surveyed 249 liver disease patients and carers in Wales to find out how …

Read More

Addressing the liver disease crisis in Wales: next steps for a new Government and Senedd Cymru

Welsh flag

The Welsh Government has led the way by being the first UK country to have a specific …

Read More

Covid pandemic could lead to thousands more liver disease cases in Wales, warns charity

woman holding liver

Research shows that more than a half of adults in Wales may have been putting their livers …

Read More

Preventing non-communicable diseases in Wales

The British Liver Trust has joined forces with Wales’s other leading Non-Communicable Disease (NCD) charities to call …

Read More

The British Liver Trust secures funding for its work in Wales until April 2021

woman holding liver

The British Liver Trust has secured an additional year of funding from the Welsh Government to continue …

Read More

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Find out more about cookies and how to manage your settings.

What is a CCG or ICS?

CCGs (Clinical Commissioning Groups) were established as part of the Health and Social Care Act in 2012. They are groups of general practices, which come together in each area to commission the best services for their patients and population.

ICS (Integrated Care Systems) are new partnerships between the organisations that meet health and care needs across an area, to coordinate services and to plan in a way that improves population health and reduces inequalities between different groups. ICS will replace Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) by April 2022 and cover a wider geographic area than CCGs.

Devolved nations – health is primarily a devolved matter across the four nations which make up the UK. Among these variations are differing regional structures, Scotland and Wales have Health Boards, England have CCGs (currently being superseded by Integrated Care Systems) and Northern Ireland has Health and Social Care Trusts.

Skip to content