cancer Archives - British Liver Trust

Thousands affected by missed cancer target, data suggests

The NHS in England has missed its target to diagnose and treat 85% of cancer patients within …

Read More

Open letter from cancer charities to the public


The British Liver Trust has joined forces with over 40 UK cancer charities in an open letter …

Read More

Aiming higher: plotting a route out of the pandemic and towards world-leading cancer services

The Covid-19 pandemic has had a profound impact on all our lives, including those with liver disease …

Read More

Symptom awareness of deadliest cancers is as low as 4% in the UK

New data released by the Less Survivable Cancers Taskforce on World Cancer Day shows that symptoms awareness …

Read More

Almost 18,000 more people could die from cancer due to Covid-19 impact

person in hospital

Almost 18,000 more people could die from cancer over the next year in England due to the …

Read More

Lancet Liver Commission report highlights alarming lack of public understanding about liver disease

doctor's appointment

The UK’s leading hepatology consultants and senior figures from the Foundation for Liver Research, British Liver Trust …

Read More

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Find out more about cookies and how to manage your settings.

What is a CCG or ICS?

CCGs (Clinical Commissioning Groups) were established as part of the Health and Social Care Act in 2012. They are groups of general practices, which come together in each area to commission the best services for their patients and population.

ICS (Integrated Care Systems) are new partnerships between the organisations that meet health and care needs across an area, to coordinate services and to plan in a way that improves population health and reduces inequalities between different groups. ICS will replace Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) by April 2022 and cover a wider geographic area than CCGs.

Devolved nations – health is primarily a devolved matter across the four nations which make up the UK. Among these variations are differing regional structures, Scotland and Wales have Health Boards, England have CCGs (currently being superseded by Integrated Care Systems) and Northern Ireland has Health and Social Care Trusts.

Skip to content