alcohol and the liver Archives - British Liver Trust

British Liver Trust calls for alcohol strategy to tackle alcohol harm


The British Liver Trust is calling for the Government to adopt a joined up alcohol strategy to …

Read More

Commission on Alcohol Harm calls for evidence


As part of the Commission on Alcohol Harm, the British Liver Trust is launching a call for …

Read More

Main political parties commit to reducing alcohol harm in their manifestos

The British Liver Trust has successfully campaigned, as part of the Alcohol Health Alliance, for all of …

Read More

British Liver Trust welcomes results of study into viral treatment of alcoholic hepatitis

a bacteriophage (orange) attaches to the membrane of a bacterial cell

The British Liver Trust has welcomed the results of a study published today, which looks at how …

Read More

British Liver Trust supports Alcohol Awareness Week

Unit chart

This week, the British Liver Trust will join 2,000 other community groups to highlight the impact that …

Read More

Three steps to love your liver

liver disease, liver health, liver charity, health, healthcare, liver, love your liver, hepatitis, cirrhosis, nafld, alcohol, obesity, alcohol-related liver disease, fatty liver disease

9 in 10 liver disease cases can be prevented with simple lifestyle changes and as part of …

Read More

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Find out more about cookies and how to manage your settings.

What is a CCG or ICS?

CCGs (Clinical Commissioning Groups) were established as part of the Health and Social Care Act in 2012. They are groups of general practices, which come together in each area to commission the best services for their patients and population.

ICS (Integrated Care Systems) are new partnerships between the organisations that meet health and care needs across an area, to coordinate services and to plan in a way that improves population health and reduces inequalities between different groups. ICS will replace Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) by April 2022 and cover a wider geographic area than CCGs.

Devolved nations – health is primarily a devolved matter across the four nations which make up the UK. Among these variations are differing regional structures, Scotland and Wales have Health Boards, England have CCGs (currently being superseded by Integrated Care Systems) and Northern Ireland has Health and Social Care Trusts.

Skip to content