LSCT Archives - British Liver Trust

Hepatocellular carcinoma in Scotland: a new action plan for better care

As part of the Less Survivable Cancers Taskforce, the British Liver Trust is working with the Scottish …

Read More

Symptom awareness of deadliest cancers is as low as 4% in the UK

New data released by the Less Survivable Cancers Taskforce on World Cancer Day shows that symptoms awareness …

Read More

Faster diagnosis needed to beat deadliest cancers

person in hospital

The British Liver Trust is calling for is calling for focus, prioritisation and investment in order to …

Read More

Almost 18,000 more people could die from cancer due to Covid-19 impact

person in hospital

Almost 18,000 more people could die from cancer over the next year in England due to the …

Read More

The British Liver Trust calls on the new government to take action on less survivable cancers.

Cancer cells

The British Liver Trust, along with the five other health charities that form part of the Less …

Read More

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Find out more about cookies and how to manage your settings.

What is a CCG or ICS?

CCGs (Clinical Commissioning Groups) were established as part of the Health and Social Care Act in 2012. They are groups of general practices, which come together in each area to commission the best services for their patients and population.

ICS (Integrated Care Systems) are new partnerships between the organisations that meet health and care needs across an area, to coordinate services and to plan in a way that improves population health and reduces inequalities between different groups. ICS will replace Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) by April 2022 and cover a wider geographic area than CCGs.

Devolved nations – health is primarily a devolved matter across the four nations which make up the UK. Among these variations are differing regional structures, Scotland and Wales have Health Boards, England have CCGs (currently being superseded by Integrated Care Systems) and Northern Ireland has Health and Social Care Trusts.

Skip to content