Alpha-1 Antitrypsin Archives - British Liver Trust

Edinburgh Genetic/Autoimmune Liver Support

This group is open to anyone affected by a rare, genetic or autoimmune liver condition and is open to patients and family members. Meets quarterly from 6-8pm in the Holiday Inn Express, Royal Mile, Edinburgh 300 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1NA.

Amy Caffrey
07824 056686

Forth Valley Liver Support

This group is open to all patients, carers and family members affected by any liver condition. This group runs quarterly in Falkirk. Contact us for more information.

Amy Caffrey
07824 056686

Glasgow Genetic/Autoimmune Liver Condition Support

This group is open to patients, family members and carers affected by a rare, genetic or autoimmune liver condition. The group runs quarterly from 6-8pm at: Double Tree Hilton, 36 Cambridge Street, Glasgow G2 3HN.

Amy Caffrey
07824 056686

Alpha-1 Awareness (national)

Online information and support for those with Alpha-1 Antitrypsin deficiency.

Alpha-1 UK Support Group (national)

Online forum, information and support for anyone affected by Alpha-1 Antitrypsin deficiency.

Back to support directories

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Find out more about cookies and how to manage your settings.

What is a CCG or ICS?

CCGs (Clinical Commissioning Groups) were established as part of the Health and Social Care Act in 2012. They are groups of general practices, which come together in each area to commission the best services for their patients and population.

ICS (Integrated Care Systems) are new partnerships between the organisations that meet health and care needs across an area, to coordinate services and to plan in a way that improves population health and reduces inequalities between different groups. ICS will replace Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) by April 2022 and cover a wider geographic area than CCGs.

Devolved nations – health is primarily a devolved matter across the four nations which make up the UK. Among these variations are differing regional structures, Scotland and Wales have Health Boards, England have CCGs (currently being superseded by Integrated Care Systems) and Northern Ireland has Health and Social Care Trusts.

Skip to content